The expeditions

1. La Curieuse

"La Curieuse" was built in 1989 in Les Sables d'Olonne in France and was conceived as a platform for research missions in Kerguelen archipelago.

Based many years in Reunion, he provided logistical support to programs of scientific research ground with many equipment enabling him to practice research in oceanography.

Now in Mauritius, La Curieuse continues its support for science missions, and is also available to associations, clubs and individuals to organize "à la carte" expeditions:

Tour of Mauritius, Saint Brandon Archipelago, Madagascar, Seychelles, Mozambique Channel, La Curieuse will take you on different expeditions: diving, kitesurfing, island cruises or family or friends fun.

La Curieuse in figures:

Length: 25 m
Width: 7,60 m
Draft: 3.80 m
Tonnage: 350 tons
Propulsion: Diesel
Power: 2x 302 kw
Speed: about 10 knots or 20 km / h

6 crew members including 1 cook
12 passengers (6 double cabins, bunk beds)
2 service boats type zodiac:
- 5.80 meters equipped with 2 engines of 60 hp
- 4.20 equipped with a 20 hp engine



2. Saint Brandon

If you have an idea of paradise on earth, then it definitely looks like Saint Brandon!

Atoll of 280 km2 of coral reefs, 24 h of boat of Mauritius, Saint Brandon is made up of thirty islands which conceal a fauna and a wild flora, rich and preserved.

Do you like kitesurfing? Rocked by the trade winds, the archipelago is the promise of endless wrinkles in clear water, turquoise lagoons, among stingrays and turtles, slaloming between the sandbanks scattered escorted countless seabirds.

Do you like diving? Complete diving equipment is available on board. You will be surrounded by our team of professionals to discover a gigantic natural aquarium where evolve with grace sharks, turtles and a myriad of multicolored fish.



3. Week-end

Discover Mauritius from the sea by embarking on a weekend of exoticism on board.

From Plate Island to Morne, from Grand Gaube to Blue Bay Marine Park, you will choose your destination according to your desires: walks on the islands, diving, water ski or siesta in front of the boat.

Everyone will be able to go about their activities all day to get together at sunset over a drink and a barbecue.


4. SCIENTIFIC PARTNERSHIP

La Curieuse was designed to provide support for scientific operations in the southernmost islands of the Indian Ocean, notably in the Kerguelen Islands, but also in the scattered islands around Madagascar and the Mozambique Channel.

Today La Curieuse still participates in missions for the French Southern and Antarctic Territories and supports Ifremer during the southern summer.

The main activities are: coastal hydrography, marine biology (ichthyology, plankton, krill, benthos ...), physical oceanography (temperature, salinity etc.), support for terrestrial scientific operations (transport of equipment and personnel , Maintenance of permanent "observatory" stations of the type climatological stations), support to logistic operations on land (refueling and refugia maintenance), geology (dredging, coring), assistance to diving capacities.


TOP

Les expéditions

1. La Curieuse

“La Curieuse” a été construit en 1989 aux Sables d’Olonne en France et a été conçu dans l’idée d’être une plateforme pour les missions de recherches dans l’archipel des Kerguelen.

Longtemps basé à la Réunion, il a apporté un appui logistique aux programmes de recherche scientifique terrestre grâce à ses nombreux équipements lui permettant de conduire des recherches en océanographie.

Aujourd’hui à l’Ile Maurice, La Curieuse non seulement continue ses soutiens aux missions scientifiques, mais est également à la disposition d’associations, de clubs et de particuliers pour proposer des navigations “à la carte” :

Tour de Maurice, Archipel de Saint Brandon, Madagascar, Seychelles, Canal du Mozambique, La Curieuse vous embarque pour différentes expéditions : plongée, kitesurf, croisières dans les iles ou farniente en famille ou entre amis.

La Curieuse en quelques chiffres :
Longueur : 25 m
Largeur : 7,60 m
Tirant d’eau : 3,80 m
Tonnage : 350 tonnes
Propulsion : Diesel
Puissance : 2x 302 kw
Vitesse : 10 noeuds environ soit 20 km/h

6 membres d’équipage dont 1 cuisinier
12 passagers (6 cabines doubles, lits superposés)
2 bateaux de servitude type zodiac :
- 5,80 mètres équipé de 2 moteurs de 60 cv
- 4,20 équipé d’un moteur de 20 cv



2. Saint Brandon

Si vous avez une idée du paradis sur terre, alors il ressemble sans aucun doute à Saint Brandon !

Atoll de 280 km2 de récifs coralliens à 24 h de bateau de l’Ile Maurice, Saint Brandon représente une trentaine d’ilots qui recèlent une faune et une flore sauvage, riche et préservée.

Vous aimez le kite ? Bercé par les alizés, cet archipel est la promesse de rides interminables dans des eaux limpides, des lagons turquoises, entre raies et tortues, slalomant entre les bancs de sable éparses, escorté d’innombrables oiseaux de mer.

Vous aimez la plongée ? Un équipement de plongée complet est à votre disposition à bord. Vous serez encadré par notre équipe de professionnels pour découvrir un gigantesque aquarium naturel où évoluent avec grâce requins, tortues et une myriade de poissons multicolores



3. Week-end

Découvrez l’Ile Maurice depuis la mer en vous embarquant pour un week end dépaysant à notre bord.

De l’Ile Plate au Morne, de Grand Gaube au Parc Marin de Blue Bay, vous choisirez votre destination en fonction de vos désirs : ballades sur les iles, plongée, ski nautique ou farniente sur la plage avant du bateau.

Petits et grands pourront vaquer à leurs occupations toute la journée pour mieux se retrouver au coucher du soleil autour d’un drink et d’un barbecue.


4. Partie Scientifique

La Curieuse a été conçue afin d’assurer un soutien aux opérations scientifiques dans les iles à l’extrême sud de l’Océan Indien, notamment aux iles Kerguelen, mais également dans les iles éparses autour de Madagascar et dans le canal du Mozambique.

Aujourd’hui La Curieuse participe toujours à de nombreuses missions pour les Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises et accompagne l’Ifremer pendant l’été austral.

Les principales activités possibles sont : l’hydrographie côtière, la biologie marine (ichtyologie, plancton, krill, benthos…), l’océanographie physique (températures, salinité etc…), le soutien aux opérations scientifiques terrestres (transport de matériel et de personnels, maintenance de stations "observatoires" permanentes du type stations climatologiques), le soutien aux opérations logistiques terrestres (ravitaillement et entretien des refuges), la géologie (dragage, carottages), l’aide aux capacités de plongée.


HAUT